Congratulations go to the recipients of the AASCU Award for Excellence and Innovation. The award recognizes and honors American Association of State Colleges and Universities (AASCU) institutions demonstrating excellence and innovation in their approach to achieving student success, regional and economic development, international education, teacher education, and leadership development and diversity. Eleven awards were given in seven categories.

CUMU member institutions who received awards include:

  • University of North Carolina at Charlotte—Civic and Learning Engagement for the Charlotte Action Research Project (CHARP), a program that forges partnerships between UNC Charlotte and marginalized communities in the city of Charlotte. Read more.
  • University of Central Oklahoma—Student Success and College Completion for the Hispanic Success Initiative HSI facilitates community events, a service-learning project, conference presentations and discussions and exercises with peers and mentors for 40 Hispanic students each year, with a 92.7 percent retention rate. Read more.

Awards were also given to the University of Toledo for Excellence in Teacher Education; Stockton and James Madison Universities for Civic Learning and Community Engagement; The State University of New York at Oswego for International Education; Sam Houston State University for Leadership Development and Diversity; University of Northern Iowa for Regional and Economic Development; and California State University, Fresno for Student Success and College Completion.

Next year’s award categories have been announced with this year’s recipients. Applications open in March with the deadline set at May 4, 2018.