The Coalition of Urban and Metropolitan Universities is proud to announce its 2022–2024 executive committee. Elections were held October 25, 2022, during the CUMU presidents’ council meeting. Members of the executive committee are presidents and chancellors of CUMU member institutions and are elected to serve two-year terms in their respective positions.

“Urban and metropolitan campuses are on the front lines of many of higher education’s most critical issues. Members of the CUMU executive committee recognize the evolving and critical role their campuses play in the lives of their students and the well-being of their regions,” said CUMU Executive Director Valerie Holton. “I want to thank our newly elected and returning executive committee members for their leadership and commitment to the CUMU mission.”

Executive committee members are nominated and elected by peers from CUMU member institutions. Each has demonstrated their commitment to the CUMU mission of promoting and enhancing urban and metropolitan universities.

William Covino re-elected president

William Covino, president, Cal State LA

William Covino, president, California State University Los Angeles

“The distinguished colleagues who join me on the executive committee exemplify the dedication to the public good and the enrichment of urban communities that have always defined CUMU’s mission.”

Kristin Sobolik elected vice president and treasurer

Kristin Sobolik, chancellor, University of Missiouri–St. Louis

Kristin Sobolik, chancellor, University of Missouri–St. Louis

“Universities like ours are vital to the communities they serve, providing educational opportunities and outreach on pressing economic and social issues, and the Coalition of Urban and Metropolitan Universities has long been an invaluable resource to share ideas about how best to meet those challenges. I’m proud to have the opportunity to serve in a leadership position as we learn from each other and work to build stronger communities through education, research and service.”

New members-at-large, 2022–2024

Angelo Araimo, president, Wagner College

Angelo Araimo, president, Wagner College

“CUMU recognizes the outsized impact that place-based institutions like Wagner can have within local communities through our civic engagement and scholarship and charges us to make these investments. I am proud to have been elected to serve on CUMU’s executive committee for the next two years.”

Joanne Li, chancellor, University Nebraska Omaha

Joanne Li, chancellor, University of Nebraska Omaha

“I am honored to be elected and serve on the executive committee of the Coalition of Urban and Metropolitan Universities. UNO has had the privilege of being a part of the CUMU network for many years and I am excited at this chance to not just continue but enhance that collaboration. For 114 years UNO has championed student engagement because we know community-based and service learning opportunities for students make them significantly more likely to complete their education and remain an active member in their community after graduation.”

Deidra Peaslee, president, St. Paul College

Deidra Peaslee, president, Saint Paul College

“As an institution with a vision of advancing racial equity, enriching community vibrancy and inspiring students to reach their full potential, the urban location of Saint Paul College is woven into the fabric of the institution. Given CUMU’s focus on helping colleges to leverage campus resources to benefit the community, I am honored to serve on the board to expand this work to more fully include urban community colleges.”

Re-elected members-at-large, 2022–2024

Members-at-large continuing their 2021-2023 terms

Immediate past president

  • Devorah Lieberman, president, University of La Verne

CEO of administrative headquarters (ex officio)